Grace and Eileen’s 2012 Holiday Party: The Menu

Let’s just come right out with it: I’m a bit of a control freak. I like order. I like cleanliness. I like things my way. Most importantly, I like having full control of my kitchen. And I like to be in it… ALONE.

So when it came down to planning the food for the party, I knew that it was going to have to be done by me, and me alone. The potluck thing never really worked in the past because some (dear and loved) friends think that means coming into (ahem) my kitchen and cooking. (Note the above statement of liking full control of the kitchen.) And ordering takeout wasn’t an option, because seriously, what a cop out!

I like to cook. I’m a good cook. And I like to host. Let the menu planning begin!

I officially started working on the menu two weeks ago (note the above statement about being a control freak). Taking into consideration the limited funding (coming from just me and Grace because, let’s face it, who likes going to one of those parties where the hosts say, “Come over for food that we make, but pay us for it!” Kill me now. Just go to a restaurant and make it a night out.) and my own time constraints being as it is the middle of finals, holiday shopping, etc, I revised and parred down and edited until I came up with the following:

Starters

Spiced Hummus with Roasted Garlic (from Peter Berley’s The Modern Vegetarian Kitchen)

White Bean Spread (from Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Every Day)

to be eaten with pita chips, celery, carrots, and crackers (provided by kind friends)

Main Course

Vegetarian Lasagna (a combination of this, this, and this; gonna be getting a wee bit creative)

Sides

Roasted Potatoes with Rosemary (been making this so long don’t even know where the recipe is from)

Stuffed Mushrooms(adapted from this recipe)

Dessert

Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache (adapted from this recipe)

I have been waiting to get a chance to plan, cook, and serve my own three-course meal so I AM PRETTY DAMN EXCITED. I think this will be an amazing way to say thank you to all my friends and to see all of them together before we part ways for the holidays.

I’m feeling grateful, and alive!

Leave a Reply

